Hello and welcome to my blog!

Created this (perhaps temporarily) for my linux distribution.

Version 0.9:  Security-orientated Linux distribution built on Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (8.10).

Download: http://www.adrive.com/public/c3c5e08139a7862c5eaaf2876f8622dfddef593652fca733af8f995ad4b515bc.html

Next release will;

  • Be a DVD
  • Have all programs run as root (eg Applications -> gksudo wireshark)
  • Contain more programs (especially ones that don’t have a .deb)
  • Have my custom wallpaper
  • Contain rainbow tables
  • Have firefox addons built in (for Live Session User)
  • By default, will boot into VESA
  • By default, will use generic drivers
  • Have an edited GNOME source code, which will allow for another menu on the top menubar (next to Applications|Places|System)
  • HAVE A NAME!!!
  • Be Version 1.0!!!

So I hope you will find the current version helpful, and will look forward to my next release!

I have some committments, so I will be out of action for the next week, then I’ll begin work on the DVD version.

If you find any bugs, or have any suggestions, please don’t hesitate in commenting to this post.

Thanks

Panarchy

UPDATE: Note that not all of these features will appear in Version 1 of my distribution, as it ended up taking a lot longer then I though. Expect most of the features in version 1, but some you’ll have to wait for. Sorry!

2 Responses to “”

  1. Just a few notes.

    Orientation refers to knowing which direction east is in. It relates to reading a map. The word you were looking for is oriented.

    Running every program, as root, every time, is stupid. Perhaps you should read up on the importance of not giving root access every time.

    You planned for your distro to “contain rainbow tables” to what purpose?

    And you don’t need to edit the Gnome source code to add another menu on the menu bar. There are plugins for this.

  2. panarchy Says:

    Rainbow tables would be helpful in the case of not wanting to do brute-force or dictionary attacks. Rainbow Tables are faster. If I can limit the size of my Distribution enough, then I would be able to include quite a lot of Rainbow Tables.

    There are plugins? Excellent. You saved me some time. Link please

    Thanks for your reply Nathan,

    Panarchy

Leave a Reply

